Presented by the Brooklyn Eagles

Master of Ceremonies
Isaac Fitzgerald

Join Brooklyn Public Library and the Brooklyn Eagles to toast Brooklyn’s best books with specialty cocktails, author chats, and Brooklyn history.

The event will begin with a Cocktail Fundraiser, which will be ticketed, followed by our Literary Prize celebration, which will be free and open to the public. Tickets to the Cocktail Fundraiser include a local cocktail package, virtual cocktail class, a Brooklyn speakeasy history lesson, and the chance to hang with your fellow library enthusiasts from home while supporting BPL's critical family programs and collections.

Friday, November 20, 2020

Ticketed Cocktail Fundraiser: 7 – 7:45 PM
Free Lit Prize Celebration: 8 - 8:45 pm
Hosted Virtually

All proceeds will support children, youth, and cultural programs at branches throughout the borough.

The Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize

The Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize honors two books that exemplify the Library’s mission of addressing the urgent social, political, and artistic issues of our time. The nominated and winning titles were compiled by a panel of BPL librarians, drawing not only on their expertise with traditional literature and contemporary writing but also on their knowledge of the patrons they work with every day. The Prize is one of only a f ew major literary prizes awarded by a public library system and selected by a panel of librarians.

The 2020 Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize, presented by the Brooklyn Eagles, is generously supported by the Peck Stacpoole Foundation.

NonFiction Finalists

Fiction & Poetry Finalists

Rivers Solomon

The Deep

by Rivers Solomon (with Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes), GALLERY/SAGA PRESS (Simon & Schuster)

Ocean Vuong

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

Ocean Vuong, Penguin

Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone

This is How You Lose The Time War

by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone, Gallery/Saga Press (Simon & Schuster)

2020 Brooklyn Classic Co-Chairs

Emily Ashton

Divya Sashti

2020 Brooklyn Classic Host Committee

(List in formation)

  • Matthew Baer
  • Kate Brannen & David Gura
  • Charles Duhigg
  • Dan Evans
  • Jamie Fox
  • Peter Goldwasser
  • Sarah Grubb
  • Jessica Hendrix
  • Denzell Jobson
  • Shanti Mathew
  • Ashley Mihlebach
  • Margi Miranda
  • Michael Murphy
  • Joe Musso
  • Ron Nurwisah
  • Athena Pappas
  • Grace Rauh
  • Barbara Ann Rogers
  • Beatrice Rubin
  • Hannah Sterrs
  • Konstantine Tettonis

2020 Bklyn Classic Sponsors

Classic Edition

  • Susan & David Marcinek

Literary Patron

  • Elizabeth Ryan
  • Katherine Ashton Young

Writer's Muse

  • Luz Acevedo
  • Emily T. Ashton
  • Ali Davis
  • Blake and Andrew Foote
  • Diane Fox
  • Christina Greer
  • Stephanie Gromek
  • Jessica O. Hendrix
  • Marie Clare Katigbak and Peter Goldwasser
  • Athena Pappas
  • Martin Ruiz
  • Leeza Torres
  • Magda Jimenez Train and Patrick A. Train-Gutiérrez

Library Supporter

  • Kate Brannen & David Gura
  • Kathryn Borgatti & Daniel Evans
  • Jamie & Michael Fox
  • Megan Masek & Sarah Schoof
  • Tracie Masek & Chris Edwards
  • Lexy Mayers & David Lesser
  • Ashley Mihlebach & Benjamin Steinberg
  • Carla Norris
  • Athena Pappas
  • Julie Raskin
  • Grace Rauh
  • Beatrice Rubin
  • Elizabeth Rubin
  • Badri Sashti
  • Divya Sashti
  • Selvon C. Smith
  • Laurie Tamis
  • Norman Trepner
  • Xiaoxi Tu
  • Manoush Zomorodi & Josh Robin

Shop for Brooklyn Classic merchandise.